Paper Tigers

Paper Tigers

After reading this I feel slightly insulted, not by the author but by the implications of what he wrote. As an Asian- American I understand a lot of where he is coming from. My parents may not have been as hard on me as many other asian parents, but there was still a standard that I was expected to achieve. However, I think my peers had a higher expectation for me to succeed. They all had the notion that because I am asian that I HAVE TO do well in school, especially in math and science. If I received one bad grade they were more surprised than I was. Therefore, I don’t think it’s fair for people to think that we either have an unfair advantage or are ruining good schools. I’ll admit, growing up I knew I was smart and I always ended up in the advanced programs at school, but I also worked hard for my grades. While my non- asian friends were watching TV or playing games, I would recite my multiplication tables. People think that we are raising the standards too high, but how else are you expected to be pushed into succeeding without competition? To a point I think the standard for schools have dropped. When I was younger one teacher had accused me of cheating because I didn’t show my work. He thought that I had copied the answers from another student, when I actually just did all the work in my head. How can we have an unfair advantage when it seems that even the teachers are against us? To my young mind it seemed as if he wanted me to fail, which only made me work harder to never give him that satisfaction. In the end, yes, I may have raised the standards for the whole class, but I was stubborn and would not allow anyone to try and bring me down.

At the end the author mentions that Asians must, in practice, score 140 points better than a white applicant and how this is unfair. I agree because people like to sprout off that everyone is equal and has the same chances and opportunities, but in all honesty we don’t. For all our vaulted “intelligence and advantages” a lot of times I still feel that I have to work at the very least twice as hard as my peers in order to achieve the results I want. A lot of them complain about how well I do compared to them and how I may or may not mess up the grading curve, but if they spent more time on their studies and less on partying or other things then they wouldn’t have these complaints. I do understand that there are people out there who study much harder than me only to not get the results they want, but as I mentioned earlier, competition causes people to work harder to succeed. So, I want people to actually look at their kid’s study habits and perhaps, dare I say it, push their kids to do better instead of insisting that asians are making it too hard for their kids to do well. 

Leave a Reply

