Procrastination

To all my readers who are up at 2 in the morning with me,

So… procrastinating. We all do it. Some more than others, but everyone does it. In fact, I am doing it right now. I spent my whole night procrastinating. I was suppose to be writing my International Relations (IR) paper tonight and instead I decided to harass my suite mate and make a new friend. Now, don’t get me wrong. I had a great time getting to know her and I will definitely be bothering her again, but it is now 2 AM and I still have a lot of work to do. I dragged her all over our dorm building meeting different people and just talking. I had a great night, but I will seriously regret not getting any sleep in the morning. I guess that is my dilemma. We know that we shouldn’t procrastinate and that we will regret it, but we do it anyway. WHY?

I have been studying some philosophy while I have been at college and I found one answer to this question, but I not sure it completely satisfies me. This week in my Humanities class we have been studying Nietzsche. His philosophy is “human nature is to desire pleasure and avoid pain.” I have to wonder if by procrastinating we are trying to extend the time of avoiding a perceived pain. The reason I am not sure I am completely happy with this explanation is because we know that by procrastinating we are only prolonging the pain and it will only intensify the longer we wait. Does this not make us masochistic instead? We know that the longer we put something off, the worse the consequences and pain will be when we finally do it. I always have this in my mind whenever I procrastinate on something, yet I can’t bring myself to stop. It is like a vicious cycle. I procrastinate on an assignment, so I stay up late the night before to do it, then after I hand it in I use the time I could doing another assignment early to make up for my lost sleep instead, and then the cycles repeats.

I know this has been kind of short and i still have yet to come to an actual conclusion, but I will not lie to you guys. My brain has essentially short- circuited and any brain cells I have left that are functioning I need to read my very long and very dry IR textbook. I will definitely be writing a follow-up on this, but right now I am having issues thinking, forget about writing down coherent thoughts. So I do apologize to my readers who wanted to see where I was going with this. I started this as a way to procrastinate on reading my textbook, but discovered that I actually stumbled on quite the ingenious idea. I just don’t know where I want to go with it yet. I will think more on this dilemma and would love to hear your thoughts on it. So, as alway good night and much love from a very tired

Miss J 

3 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. I would agree with you that procrastination may be a way to avoid a perceived pain. The things we procrastinate doing tells us a lot about our true interests, passions, and priorities. The activities we instead fill our time with is what we truly enjoy and thus take pleasure in.

    “The work you do while you procrastinate should be the work you do your entire life”
    -Jessica Hische

  2. I like that answer. However, as much as I would love to do what I usually do when I procrastinate, I don’t think reading will make a viable job. I’ve been giving it some more thought these past couple of days since as you’ve probably guessed I have once again been procrastinating and came up with some other theories. I’m going to hold off on posting them so I can flesh it out a little more, but I will definitely be taking into account what your comment. This is giving me some great thought. =) So I want to say thank you. I hope you will comment on my follow up as well. This could turn into a really interesting topic.

Leave a Reply

